Story image

58 finalists vie for top spot at Australian Fintech Awards

17 May 2017

The finalists for next week’s Australian Fintech awards (Finnies 2017) have been announced, and it is shaping up to be a tough competition full of the country’s most promising upcomers.

58 finalists were chosen from 158 award entries across 30 categories, and FinTech Australia CEO Danielle Szetho says the 39 judges had a difficult time picking the finalists. 49 of the finalists are companies and nine are individual entrants. 

“Not surprisingly, we received most interest for our FinTech Organisation of the Year and Emerging FinTech Organisation of the Year awards, given the prestige of these award categories. In some cases, a mere three points separated half a dozen finalists,” she says.

This is the first time the industry-backed awards will take place, and Szetho says she is excited by the response to entries.

“We’re also enjoying using these awards to promote the great work and innovation of our fintech companies,” she says.

The awards will be announced at a gala ceremony in Sydney on May 24.

John Barilaro, NSW’s Deputy Premier and Minister for Small Business, was impressed that 39 of the 58 applicants were from NSW.

"NSW is at the heart of Australia’s financial services industry - home to 54 per cent of the nation's fintech sector - so to get 67 per cent of the Finnies finalists from NSW is a great achievement,” he comments.

"Congratulations to all the finalists and best of luck for the upcoming awards. The NSW Government, through Jobs for NSW, has provided $80,000 for a two year sponsorship of the Finnies in recognition of the value and jobs that the growing fintech industry brings to our economy,” he adds.

Major Category Finalists

Emerging FinTech Leader of the Year ​Bigstone Capital Pty Ltd, Team of 5 founders (Boyd, Rob, Liam, Indy & Marcus) Emma Weston, CEO and Co-Founder, AgriDigital Jack O'Reilly, Director and Founder,

Male FinTech Leader of the Year Cameron Poolman, CEO, OnDeck Australia Daniel Foggo, CEO, Ratesetter Greg Moshal & Beau Bertoli, Founders and Joint CEOs, Prospa

Female FinTech Leader of the Year Anna Harper, CFO, SocietyOne Emma Weston, CEO, AgriDigital ​Rhondalynn Korolak, Managing Director, Imagineering Now & Businest 

Emerging FinTech Organisation of the Year ​AgriDigital ​OnDeck Australia Spaceship Valiant Finance ​Verrency

FinTech Organisation of the Year ​Afterpay BRICKX Data Republic ​Invoice2go OnMarket BookBuilds ​Prospa RateSetter Australia ​SocietyOne

Finalists - Other Categories Including People, Culture and Talent (3 awards),  Growth Mindset and Global Perspective (5 awards),  Excellence in Business (17 awards)

Acorns Grow Melbourne Securities Corporation ​AgriDigital Metamako AirTree Ventures ​Moula Airwallex OnDeck Australia Assembly Payments ​OnMarket BookBuilds ​Avoka Othera BRICKX Peppermint Innovation Ltd ​Businest Pocketbook CoinJar Prospa CrowdfundUP Proviso Data Republic  ​RateSetter Australia Entersoft Red Marker ​Equitise Reinventure Group ​Fincast SelfWealth Sharesight Flamingo SocietyOne ​HashChing Spotcap Instanda Stone & Chalk ​InstaReM Tank Stream Labs ​Invoice2go The Fold Legal Living Room of Satoshi ​Timelio LoanDolphin TRAction Fintech Pty Ltd

Kinetica launches a new active analytics platform
"With the platform now powered by NVIDIA DGX-2, customers can build smart analytical applications that combine historical data analytics and ML-powered analytics."
Avi Networks: Using visibility to build trust
Visibility, also referred to as observability, is a core tenet of modern application architectures for basic operation, not just for security.
Zoom’s new Rooms and Meetings features
Zoom has released information about the upcoming releases for its Rooms and Meeting offerings for 2019.
Aussie company set to democratise direct-to-orbit IoT access
Adelaide-based Myriota has released a developer toolkit that has been trialled and tested by a smart waste management platform.
Dynatrace takes pole position in APM Magic Quadrant
It placed highest on Ability to Execute and furthest on Completeness of Vision in the 2019 Quadrant for Application Performance Monitoring (APM).
HCL and Xerox expand strategic partnership
Under the terms of the agreement, HCL will manage portions of Xerox’s shared services, including global administrative and support functions.
Inspur announces AI edge computing server with NVIDIA GPUs
“The dynamic nature and rapid expansion of AI workloads require an adaptive and optimised set of hardware, software and services for developers to utilise as they build their own solutions."
Avaya expands integration with Google Cloud AI
This includes embedding Google’s machine learning within conversation services for the contact centre, enabling integration of AI capabilities.