IT Brief Australia - Technology news for CIOs & IT decision-makers
Story image
Helen McHugh elected as President of Australian Technology Association
Mon, 20th Nov 2023

The ACS, the professional association for australian technology sector, has announced that Helen McHugh has been elected as its new president for the years 2024-25. With the focus being on building membership, McHugh takes the helm as the second female president of ACS, succeeding Dr Nick Tate. Brenda Aynsley, OAM, was the first female to ever lead the organisation during the years 2014-15.

Before assuming the presidency, Ms McHugh held the position of NSW Branch Chair. Her election comes following a vote carried out by the ACS National Congress. The change of hands adheres to mandates in the ACS National Rules and Regulations, which stipulate a change in presidency.

Commenting on her appointment, Ms McHugh says, "It's a great privilege to be elected President of ACS. As the peak body for Australia's IT profession, ACS represents both the heritage and the future of the nation's technology sector." The new president’s personal connection to the sector, through her father's work with Trevor Pearcey, one of the great pioneers of Australian computing, enhances her enthusiasm for the role.

McHugh envisages building on the foundational works of the pioneers to expand ACS member base. She states, "I'm also focused on how we can deliver more value for members for the sector and boost ACS engagement with other groups and associations to amplify the technology sector's positions."

Outgoing president, Dr Nick Tate, expressed his pleasantry in transferring responsibilities to McHugh. He comments, "It has been a privilege to represent ACS during a period where we came out of COVID stronger than ever with a strong member base."

Chris Vein, ACS Chief Executive Officer, is also looking forward to collaborating with Helen. "I look forward to working with Helen over the next two years as we look to transform the organisation to build its relevance to members and the wider technology community", he adds.

Alongside the announcement of McHugh's presidency, the ACS elections have also confirmed four new individuals taking up roles within the National Management Committee. The newly elected members include Jeff Smith (Victoria) - Vice President (Membership Boards), Roger Clarke (Canberra Branch) - National Congressional Representative, Tapan Dave (South Australian Branch) - National Congressional Representative, and Rod Dilnutt (Victorian Branch) - National Congressional Representative. The incoming president, along with the new committee members, are due to formally assume their positions from 1 January, 2024.

ACS is the voice of Australia's technology sector, representing over 47,000 technology professionals nationwide. The organisation works to grow the technology sector while ensuring IT professionals act ethically and responsibly, combining their duties towards their employers and the wider community.